Online Identity vs. Offline Identity… (Tech Task #10)

Is “who” you are online a true reflection of “who” you are offline?

For some the answer may be yes and for others the answer may be no… When creating an online identity, YOU decide if your “identity” is real, fake, or anonymous… and YOU may be the only one who knows the truth behind your online identity. So “who” is correct?

Personally, my online identity (my Facebook page, blog, Twitter account…) is a true reflection of who I am offline. Since the beginning of this class, my online identity has grown immensely, which can be seen through my blog [vanessahipkins.wordpress.com], and I have had a lot of fun “sharing” it with others (and hope to continue to share it with future employers and employees). But, I am careful of what and how much personal information I put online, just like I am careful of what and how much personal information I share offline [with others]. I am the same person online as I am offline… which can’t be said for everyone…?

As a future educator, I believe that who you are online should reflect who you are offline, and vice versa. With the growth of technology in the classroom, it is important to model and teach students how to use it, but also how to use it “right” – how to be safe and protect yourself online (just as you would offline; for example: sharing personal information with the public). If YOU have something to hide online, then it shouldn’t be online – for the sake, and safety, of yourself personally and professionally.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Online Identity vs. Offline Identity… (Tech Task #10)

  1. Pingback: Tech Task #10 | Danelle Rottenbucher

Leave a Reply

